The usual, “compare X to cars,” argument

scheduleJune 11, 2019

I am an Army veteran. I enjoy shooting. I have a CCP (Concealed Carry Permit). I average a trip to the range every week. While there I spend a minimum of one hour using a firearm doing drills like drawing from a holster and shooting, picking up a firearm from a flat surface (table) and shooting, and shooting with my off hand. That means I spend a minimum of 52 hours a year training with my firearm. I average one firearms class per month (average length, one day). It’s even documented.

Dave Grossi is a retired police Lieutenant from upstate New York. He has served in multiple capacities as an officer. In 2017 he wrote an article about the training officers receive. He said, 

In reality, most police departments only train about two times a year, averaging less than 15 hours annually.

Soak that in for a moment. On average I do 400% more training with my firearms than police officers do.

Four times.

Now for some cars comparisons. “Guns are built to kill people and cars are built for transportation.” Interesting comparison.

In 2008 there were 304.1 million citizens in the U.S. 11,000 were killed with one of the 4,498,944 firearms. In the same year 37,261 people were killed with one of the 255,917,660 cars nationwide.